Results - Rössing Marathon National Championship 2017
(11 February 2017)

Click here for the complete list of results

A new national marathon champion was crowned today when Paulus Iiyambo of the Namibian Defence Force (NDF) sport club won the Rössing Marathon National Championship in a good time of 2 hours 19 minutes and 30 seconds. Sponsored by Rio Tinto Rössing Uranium and hosted by Swakop Striders Athletics Club the event took place in overcast, windless conditions at a new venue – the Vineta North sports fields in Swakopmund. After his win, a confident Iiyambo said: “I’ve been participating here for a number of years so by now I’m almost used to the Rössing Marathon. My race was relaxed and the conditions were great.”


The start of the Rössing Marathon National Championship 2017 in Swakopmund - 11 February 2017


Paulus Iiyambo - Rössing Marathon National Championship 2017 winner


The defending champion, Reonard Namupala, came in hot on the heels of the winner and managed a respectable second place in a time of 2 hours 22 minutes and 31 seconds. Simon Shipingana finished third in 2 hours 23 minutes and 17 seconds.

In the Marathon Ladies Open category it was Namibia’s 2012 Olympic star and NDF competitor, Helalia Johannes, who burst back onto the victory scene with an impressive win over many younger competitors. Helalia won in 2 hours 45 minutes and 20 seconds and still looked full of running after her victory. She said: “It feels great to perform well in the marathon again after focusing on the shorter distances during last year’s event. I am happy with my recorded time and still had energy left after the race. Thank you Rössing for another great event this year.”

Jacklyn mwenze (Rössing Manager HSEC&PS) and Rössing managing director,
Werner Duvenhage with Paulus Iiyambo - Men's Open marathon winner 2017


Jacklyn Mwenze (Rössing manager HSEC&PS) and Rössing managing director,
Werner Duvenhage with Helalia Johannes - Ladies Open marathon winner 2017


Sofia Nambabi finished second in the Ladies Open Marathon with a time of 3 hours 6 minutes and 48 seconds and Julia Jansen van Rensburg third in 3 hours 17 minutes and 24 seconds.

The fast-paced 10 km Run was won by Kefas Kondjashii in a time of 30 minutes and 16 seconds – slightly slower than last year’s winning time of just under 30 minutes. Kefas was followed by Tomas Rainhold in 30:18 and Jeremia Shaliaxhwe, last year’s winner from the Namibia Police (Nampol), with a time of 30:35.

In the 10 km Run Ladies Open it was Nampol’s super fit Lavinia Haitope who triumphed in 33:40, followed by Alina Armas (35:36) and Leena Ekandjo in a time of 37:46.

The winners of the open categories received prizes worth over N$70 000, which included N$10 000 cash each and an additional N$20 000 development bonus for the men’s and ladies’ marathon winners. The development bonus is to help the winners further their careers throughout the year of their reign as Rössing Marathon National Champions.

A record number of 109 marathon athletes entered the Rössing Marathon this year, with close to 300 entries in the 10km Run – also a new record – and around 200 fun walkers took part in the 5 km Fun Walk in aid of the Cancer Association of Namibia (CAN). The Uranium Charity Relay over ten kilometres, an event also in aid of CAN and open to uranium companies in the Erongo Region, was won for the third year in a row by the team from Rössing Uranium Mine. Through their registration fees and additional donations, the fun walkers and relay runners collected approximately N$4 000 for the Cancer Association to use in the fight against cancer in Namibia.


Paulus Iiyambo and Helalia Johannes - Rössing Marathon open winners 2017


The theme for this year’s Rössing Marathon was “Stay healthy. Join the race”. Werner Duvenhage, Rössing Uranium managing director said: “The main aim of the marathon championship is to spark a long-term interest in healthy habits and proudly associate Rössing Uranium with the promotion of healthy lifestyles in the mine’s neighbouring communities. At the same time we aim to foster friendships and teamwork among all participants. As part of the Rio Tinto Group, we strive to create positive social impacts through responsible mining. It is with continued investment in the talent and potential of our beautiful country that we support improved living standards for our people, safety, health and wellbeing, and education in our host communities. We congratulate the champions of today and undertake to host the event for the 27th consecutive time in 2018 again.”


Media Relations, Rössing
Botha Ellis
T +264 64 520 2426
M +264 81 286 0456

Media Relations, Rössing
Alwyn Lubbe
T +264 64 520 2436
M +264 81 122 5201