(20 February 2010)

Erich Goeieman
Marathon Winner

The 19th Rössing Marathon Championship event started this morning in Swakopmund in cool overcast conditions, but the weather later changed to sunny and hot for the record number of 70 marathon runners in this year's event. Defending champion Erich Goeieman of the Walvis Bay Road Runners Club took the championship laurels for the third consecutive year in a personal best time of 2:21:19. The 29 year old ran the 42.2 km in 02:26:14 last year and 2:25:57 in 2008. Erich said: “I want to improve my running time and challenge myself by competing against strong runners."

Short on his heels were Martin Ntinda of the Golden Cheetahs in a time of 2:29:12 and Oscar Komeya of the NDF in a time of 2:38:23. The marathon record is still held by Luketz Swartbooi who ran it in 2:11:23 in 1992.

The Ladies Open winner was Beata Naigambo (2:56:13), followed closely by Rachel Akukothela (2:56:14) and Anna Amuoko (3:05:30). Beata said: “I feel great and happy about being the 2010 ladies' Rössing marathon winner.” She indicated that this event is an important part of her preparation for upcoming events later this year.

The Men's Open and Ladies' Open winners won N$10 000 each, with a total of N$60 000 prize money in all categories.

In the very popular 10 km race 120 runners participated. In first place was Mynharde Kavanini of Welwitschia 77 in 30:52 followed by Reinhold Iita (NDF) in 31:01 and Robert Kaxuxuena (NDF) in 31:27.

The first lady in the 10 km race was Hendrina Namindo (38:12) and in second place was Julia Shimondi (44:49), followed by Erla Hhjamarsdottir (45:57). Rössing's Manager Corporate Communications and External Relations, Jerome Mutumba congratulated the winners. “I am very pleased to see the growing interest in this event. What we have achieved here today is to promote a healthy lifestyle amongst all of us. Rössing is committed to continue to sponsor this prestigious event and to make it the foremost marathon championship event in Namibia”, said Mutumba.

Ladies Marathon winners Beata Naigombo (left) and Rachel Akukothela Beata Naigambo (left) and Rachel Akukothela (middle) and Johan Bronkhorst of Swakop Striders
Well known marathon runner Bob Tangeni took first in Grand Masters in 3,19,30 Start of the Charity Walk

The theme for this year was GET ACTIVE, because you CAN! This is in line with Rössing's health and wellness programmes towards healthy lifestyles. The fun filled 5km Charity Walk attracted a record 135 walkers bringing about a donation of N$1 860 to the Cancer Association of Namibia. Prizes went to the youngest walker who was three years old and the oldest walker at 80 years of age, amongst others.


Issued by:
Jerome Mutumba
Manager Corporate Communications and External Relations

Alwyn Lubbe
Superintendent Corporate Communications
Tel: 064 520 2436
Cell: 081 122 5201