10km Race and 5km Charity Walk - Cancer Association of Namibia
(8 February 2010)

Rossing MarathonThe Rio Tinto Rössing Marathon Championship, organised by the Swakop Striders Athletics Club, will take place for the 19th consecutive year in Swakopmund on Saturday, 20 February 2010.

All eyes will be on Erich Goeieman of the Walvis Bay Roadrunners, who was the marathon champion in 2008 and 2009, to defend his title in the 42.2 km run. In its continuous bit to support the event, Rio Tinto Rössing Uranium Limited has significantly increased the prize money from previous years. This year a total of N$60 000 is available, with the marathon men's and ladies' first places taking home N$10 000 respectively in prize money.

In addition to generous financial rewards for category winners, T-Shirts will be issued to all entrants in the marathon and the 10km run. All winners in the first three places will receive medals.

The 10km race starts at the same time as the marathon and will be a popular event once again. The 10km race is not only for athletes who do not want to participate in the full marathon, but is open to everyone who wants to run this distance. Runners can enter in the following categories in both the marathon and 10km race:

Men's Open (age 20-39) and Ladies' Open (age 20-34);
Veteran Men (age 40-49) and Veteran Ladies (age 35-49);
Masters (age 50 plus);
Grand Masters (age 60 plus),
as well as the Junior category in the 10km race for those 12 - 19 years of age.

Entries will be taken at the starting point on Friday, 19 February from 18:00 to 21:00 and from 06:00 to 06:45 on the morning of the event. Entry fees are N$30 for the Marathon and N$20 for the 10km Run.

The marathon and 10km Run will start at 07:00 at the parking area below Café Anton, next to the Swakopmund Tennis Club and the Swakopmund Museum. Both races will follow the same route along Am Zoll, Südstrand, and Rhode Allee and out on the main road to Henties Bay and back, with the finish at the same place where the race started.

Refreshment stations will be set up approximately three kilometres apart and there will be sufficient marshals along the route to see to the traffic control. In 2009 the event attracted 50 athletes in the marathon and 95 athletes in the 10km race sponsored by Rössing Uranium.

Erich Goeieman of Walvis Bay Roadrunners won last year's marathon with a time of 02:26:14 while Paulus Iiyambo and Pineas Embashu came second and third respectively.

Rössing team event
For the 8th year a Rössing 10km relay team event will be held for employees and contractors. Each of the four runners in a team runs 2.5km. The popular Rössing team event starts with the main race at 07:00.

The prize-giving event starts shortly after the official cut-off time at 12:00.

Various prizes in the 5km Charity Walk for the Cancer Association of Namibia
The 5km charity walk for the Cancer Association of Namibia starting at 09:00 (entry from 08:30 at the event), will be hosted for the 6th year. It is open to all members of the public and promises to draw a large number of walkers.

In this fun-filled event there will be various prizes for the best dressed walker, tallest walker, youngest & oldest walkers and the walker with the most interesting hat. The entry fee is N$10 per walker with the proceeds going to the Cancer Association of Namibia. Last year 122 walkers participated. The prize-giving event for the Charity Walk is at 10:30.

Previous Marathon winners are:

2009 Erich Goeieman 2:26:14
2008 Erich Goeieman 2:25:57
2007 Simon Shigwedha 2:27:16
2006 Salomo David 2:30:02
2005 Salomo David 2:22:28
2004 Salomo David 2:29:04
2003 Robert Kaxuxuena 2:26:20
2002 Tuhafeni Petrus 2:29:08
2001 Salomo David 2:28:29
2000 Tobias Hiskia 2:28:04
1999 Luketz Swartbooi 2:20:44
1998 Johannes Gawaxamab 2:29:48
1997 Joseph Tjitunga 2:19:06
1996 Alex Cloete 2:26:44
1995 Moses Maasdorp 2:25:32
1994 Fritz Awoseb 2:17:05
1993 Aaron Shipanga 2:28:23
1992 Luketz Swartbooi 2:11:23

For further information please contact Frank Slabbert at tel. 064 405788 (h) or cell 081 240 3383 or Shoombe Shanyengana at tel. 064 520 2382 or cell 081 278 2993 or Botha Ellis at tel. 064 520 2382 or cell 081 286 0456.