(21 February 2009)

Men's Marathon winner

Erich Goeieman of the Walvis Bay Road Runners Club is the 2009 Rio Tinto Rössing Namibia Marathon Champion, running the 42.2km in 02:26:14. It was the 28 year old runner's second consecutive win, with a time of 2:25:57 in 2008.

Short on his heels was Seven Star runner Paulus Ndangi Iiyambo in a time of 02:29:35. He was followed by NDF runner Embashu Pinehas (02:31:51) and Paulus Viiho Tackey in 02:47:11.

Four-time Marathon Champion (2001, 2004, 2005 and 2006), Salomo Padrao David of the Welwitchia 77 Athletics Club, did not participate. Luketz Swartbooi still holds the Rössing Marathon Championship record time of 2:11:23 set in 1992.

Ladies Marathon Winner

The Ladies Open winner was Oyyilie Aimwata of Seven Star in a time of 02:54:25 which
gave her an overall seventh place in the marathon. She was followed by Anna Amutoko, also from Seven Star, in 02:56:09. In third place Rachel Akukothela in 03:08:44.

Increase in marathon runners

This year's event in Swakopmund started in overcast weather, which soon changed to sunny and hot conditions for the marathon runners on the Henties Bay Road.

Fifty athletes in the marathon (32 in 2008) and 95 athletes in the 10km race (116 in 2008) participated in the 18th consecutive marathon sponsored by Rio Tinto Rössing Uranium. The race was run from the parking area below Café Anton and on to the Henties Bay Road and back.

10km Race

In the 10km race Frans Hosea of the NDF won the event for the 3rd consecutive year in 31:36. He was followed by Johannes Naitembu of Seven Star in 31:38, followed by Daniel Nghipandulwa(32:57).

Reinhold Iita (NDF) took 4th place in 32:58. Helena Iipinge of the NDF was the first lady in the 10km race in 35:53 with the second
lady, Julia Shimondi in 44:19.


In the marathon the sixty year old Bob “Marathon” Tangeni of the Hidenga Sports Club was first in the Grand Master category (04:02:53) followed by the seventy year old Bill Jooste of the Walvis Bay Road Runners in 04:04:10.

5km Charity Walk – N$600 to the Cancer Association of Namibia

In the 5km Charity Walk 60 walkers participated in aid of the Cancer Association of Namibia. Some N$600 was donated to the Cancer Association. Various prizes were awarded, such as tallest walker, youngest walker, eldest, largest family group and the walkers with the fanciest hats.

Eighty year old Hester Coetzee won the prize for the oldest 5km walker. Kern and Doreen Matthews, all the way from the UK, won the fanciest hat for the second consecutive year.

Rössing Team Event

The 10 km relay team event had five Rio Tinto Rössing teams participating, with the Fine Crushing Team winning for the third year in a row in the time of 38.10. In second place was the Plate Shop A Team followed by Recovery Maintenance.


Rössing Uranium's Manager Training and Organisational Development, Chris Murangi, congratulated all the runners on their excellent performances. “You have made the most of your abilities and showed that you are fine sportsmen and women.” He said that the through the event Rössing Uranium hopes to promote a healthy lifestyle among all Namibians.

“Rössing is committed to continue our sponsorship of this important event on the Namibia athletics calendar as we have done for the past 18 years. Just as Rössing is a supplier of energy to the world for more than 30 years, we would like to see ourselves as a supplier of energy in long distance running in Namibia by continued sponsorship of this event.”

For further information please contact Frank Slabbert at tel 064 405788 or cell 081 240 3382 or Alwyn Lubbe at tel 064 520 2436 or
cell 081 122 5201.